Language and civilization diplomas

This page has been translated automatically.

DLC 1, 2 and 3 correspond to the L1, L2 and L3 years of the bachelor's degree, and DLC 4 to the M1 level, and are made up of language courses supplemented by some civilization courses.

Organization of the Diplômes de Langue et Civilisation (DLC)

The DLC constitute a course of study in which each year leads to a diploma, and enables ects credits to be earned :

  • The DLC1, 2 and 3 allow you to acquire 36 ects per year
  • The DLC4, meanwhile, allows you to validate 30 ects

Languages offering DLC

The DLC exist for the following languages:

Africa Indian Ocean: Amharic, Berber, Hausa, Malagasy, Mandinka (Bambara), Fulani, Swahili, Wolof, Yoruba

Americas: Inuktitut, Quechua, Tzeltal (Mayan), Yucatecan (Mayan).
the Diploma in Mesoamerican Languages and Civilization is organized around a two-year course of study, focused on the acquisition of knowledge and skills relating to the languages and cultures of Mesoamerica.

Mesoamerica is a cultural and linguistic area defined by a number of shared traits. Covering a large part of the present-day states of Mexico, Guatemala and Belize, it is home to around a hundred languages, most of which belong to three distinct language families: the Uto-Aztec (or Uto-Nahua) family, the Otomangue family and the Mayan family. Three of these languages are taught in this diploma:

Learning of nahuatl classic, the language of the Aztecs and the lingua franca of Mesoamerica on the eve of the conquest and in the first decades of colonization, is complemented by lessons on the graphic communication system of this language. Also taught are contemporary Nahua languages, spoken today in various dialectal forms by around 1.5 million speakers in central Mexico.

Among the 30 or so Mayan languages, tseltal, spoken by around 600,000 speakers in the Chiapas Highlands, and Mayan Yucatecan, in which around 800,000 speakers express themselves daily, are taught. Notions of classical cholan, a pre-Columbian language of prestige, are also taught as part of courses on Maya epigraphy.

Inalco's Diploma in Mesoamerican Languages and Civilization offers interdisciplinary training in this area, unique at European level, and enabling an understanding of linguistic and cultural phenomena in their evolution.

Diploma requirements:
Students wishing to complete the entire Mesoamerica DLC must choose a specialization pathway, Maya or Nahuatl, from the first semester onwards, in addition to the compulsory core courses. This choice cannot be changed during the course of their studies.

Students wishing to take only one particular language can do so as part of a:

  • Open teaching unit
  • Minor registration
  • Language Passport O'

MESOAMERICA 2022-2023 brochure (.pdf / 887.19Ko)

Asia and the Pacific: Chinese; Bengali, Hindi, Urdu, Rromani, Sinhala, Tamil, Telugu, Nepali, Tibetan; Burmese, Filipino (Tagalog), Indonesian-Malay, Khmer, Lao, Siamese, Vietnamese; Oceanic languages (Drehu, Tahitian) and the DLC Words, Objects and Cultures of Oceania.

Europe Eurasia : Albanian, Modern Greek, Hungarian, Finnish, Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Romanian, Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian, Bulgarian, Kurmandji, Macedonian, Slovak, Slovenian, Polish, Czech, Ukrainian, Russian, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Georgian, Kurdish, Mongolian, Pashto, Persian, Turkish, Sorani
Note: Estonian DLC 1, DLC2, DLC3 and Lithuanian DLC1 can be taken at distance.

Middle East Maghreb : Literal Arabic, Maghrebian Arabic, Egyptian Oriental Arabic, Syrian-Lebanese-Palestinian Oriental Arabic; Modern Hebrew.

DLC Paroles, objets et cultures d'Océanie (in collaboration with the Ecole du Louvre and the Musée du quai Branly.
This institutional diploma aims to give students solid knowledge of Oceania coupled with specific skills in the region's arts and heritage. To achieve this, it offers 35 courses over three years, representing a total of 725 hours of teaching and 108 ECTS. The degree combines instruction in one of the two Oceanic languages taught at Inalco (Tahitian or Drehu) with the study of the histories and cultures of Oceania's societies approached from the angle of material culture.


To join a DLC1, DLC2, DLC3 or DLC4: please refer to the applications page